BC Archives Home Page Royal BC Museum Web Site
BC Archives Home PageWhat's newSearchServicesInquiries
Genealogy / Vital Events   Visual Records   Textual Records  Time Machine  Research Visit
Moving Images   Sound Recordings   Cartographic Records   Library   How Do I?

BRITISH COLUMBIA ARCHIVES PUBLICATIONS

All titles published by the Provincial Archives of British Columbia (PABC) or the British Columbia Archives and Records Service (BCARS).

Most titles listed as In Print below may be purchased from Crown Publications, 521 Fort St., Victoria, BC, CANADA V8W 1K8. Phone: (250) 386-4636. Fax: (250) 386-0221. World-Wide Web Address: http://www.crownpub.bc.ca/ Check with Crown Publications for available titles.

All Sound Heritage sound programs are available on pre-paid basis only through Access Services, BC Archives.

SOUND HERITAGE SERIES, 1972-1983

NOTE: The first 27 issues of this series took the form of a quarterly periodical, Sound Heritage (originally Reynoldston Resarch & Studies), which had volume and issue numbers. Starting with number 28, it became a series of individual monographs known as the Sound Heritage Series. Many libraries catalogue volumes 1 to 8 as a periodical, and numbers 28 to 40 as individual books.

SHS # Volume/
Number
Publication Date  Status  Copyright Sound Program
             
1 1/1 Reynoldston Research & Studies 1972 Out of Print [to be determined]  
2 2/1 Reynoldston Research & Studies 1973 Out of Print [to be determined]  
3 2/2 Reynoldston Research & Studies 1973 Out of Print [to be determined]  
4 3/1 Aural history in British Columbia 1974 Out of Print [to be determined]  
5 3/2 British Columbia Forest industries 1974 Out of Print [to be determined]  
6 3/3 Canadian Aural History Projects [including Steveston, etc.] 1974 Out of Print [to be determined]  
7 3/4 The World Soundscape Project 1974 Out of Print [to be determined]  
8 4/1 The Canadian Aural/Oral History Conference 1975 In Print [to be determined]  
9 4/2 Aural History, Regional Studies and Literature in British Columbia
David Day, guest editor
1975; reprinted 1977 Out of Print [to be determined]  
10-11 4/3-4 Native Languages and Culture [double issue]
Robert Levine, guest editor
1976 Out of Print [to be determined]  
12 5/1 Skeena Country
Edited by Allen Specht
1976 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia (except "The Rose," copyright David Day) Skeena: River of the Clouds (produced by Imbert Orchard), call no. TAPE 1977:1
13 5/2 Perspectives on Aural History Reseach [Frontier College; Doukhobors in B.C., including Robert Minden photographs] 1976 Out of Print [to be determined]  
14 5/3 Myth and the Mountains
David Day, guest editor
1976 In Print [to be determined]  
15 5/4 The Gulf Islanders
Compiled and edited by Derek Reimer
1976; reprinted 1977 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Fortunate Islands (produced by Imbert Orchard), call no. TAPE 3307:1
16 6/1 Lillooet Stories
Edited and revised by Randy Bouchard and Dorothy I.D. Kennedy
1977; reprinted 1981 In Print BC Indian Language Project Lillooet Stories, call no. TAPE 2609:5
17 6/2 Navigating the Coast: A History of the Union Steamship Company
Edited by Peter Chapman
1977 Out of Print [to be determined] Echoes of the Past (produced by Peter Chapman), call no. TAPE 4067:1
18 6/3 Men of the Forest
Compiled and edited by David Day
1977 Out of Print [to be determined]  
19 6/4 Toil and Peaceful Life: Portraits of Doukhobors
Compiled and translated by Marjorie Malloff and Peter Ogloff
1977 Out of Print [to be determined]  
20 7/1 Nu-tka: Captain Cook and the Spanish Explorers on the Coast
Edited by Barbara S. Efrat and W.J. Langlois, also known as "Captain Cook and the Spanish Explorers on the Coast"
1978; reprinted 1989 In Print [to be determined] Captain Cook at Nootka: Part 1: Landfall on Unknown Seas (produced by the CBC), call no. TAPE 3201:1
21 7/2 Nu-tka: The History and Survival of Nootkan Culture
Edited by Barbara S. Efrat and W.J. Langlois
1978 Out of Print [to be determined] Captain Cook at Nootka: Part 2: The Salmon People From Under the Sea (produced by the CBC), call no. TAPE 3202:1
22 7/3 A Victorian Tapestry: Impressions of Life in Victoria, B.C., 1880-1914
Compiled and edited by Janet Cauthers
1978 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia In the House of the Old Doctor (produced by Imbert Orchard), call no. TAPE 3311:1
23 7/4 Fighting for Labour: Four Decades of Work in British Columbia, 1910-1950
Compiled and edited by Patricia Wejr and Howie Smith
1978 In Print BC Overtime Four Decades, Four Strikes (produced by Howie Smith and the Aural History Program, PABC), call no. TAPE 4068:1
24-25 8/1-2 Opening Doors: Vancouver's East End [double issue]
Compiled and edited by Daphne Marlatt and Carole Itter
1979 In Print [to be determined]  
26 8/3 Bright Sunshine and a Brand New Country: Recollections of the Okanagan Valley, 1890-1914
Compiled and edited by David Mitchell and Dennis Duffy
1979 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Paddy Acland's Progress: The Adventures of a Young Englishman in the Okanagan Valley (produced by Dennis Duffy), call no. TAPE 1770:1
27 8/4 In the Western Mountains: Early Mountaineering in British Columbia
Compiled and edited by Susan Leslie
1980 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Mountaineering at the Coast: Recollections of Early Mountain Climbers in British Columbia’s Coast Range (produced by Susan Leslie), call no. TAPE 3764:1
28   The Magnificent Distances: Early Aviation in British Columbia, 1910-1940
Compiled and edited by Dennis Duffy and Carol Crane
1980 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia From Jericho Beach to Swanson Bay: Recollections of Early Aviation on the Pacific Coast (produced by Dennis Duffy), call no. TAPE 3794:1
29   Season's Greetings From British Columbia's Past: Christmas As Celebrated in British Columbia from the 1880s to the 1930s
By Rich Mole
1980 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia The Sounds of Christmas Past: British Columbia Christmases, 1880s-1930s (produced by Communications Concepts Ltd.), call no. TAPE 3757:1
30   Martin: The Story of a Young Fur Trader
By Imbert Orchard
1981 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Sound programs: Travellers of the North (produced by Imbert Orchard), call no. TAPE 3834:1 AND The Childhood of Martin Starret (produced by Imbert Orchard), call no. TAPE 2433:1
31   Railroaders: Recollections from the Steam Era in British Columbia
By Robert D. Turner
1981 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Avalanche Mountain: Winter railroading in Rogers Pass (produced by Dennis Duffy), call no. TAPE 3756:1
32   Where the Lardeau River Flows
By Peter Chapman
1981 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Legends of the Lardeau: The Stories of Red McLeod and Andy Daney (produced by Peter Chapman), call no. TAPE 3813:1
33   Settling Clayoquot
By Bob Bossin
1981 Out of Print Bob Bossin Castle Island and Other Stories of Clayoquot Sound (produced by Bob Bossin) also known as Dream Island, call no. TAPE 3943:1
34   Now You Are My Brother: Missionaries in British Columbia
By Margaret Whitehead
1981 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia  
35   Extra!: When the Papers Had the Only News
By Peter Stursberg
1982 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Such Interesting People: The Journalists of British Columbia (produced by Peter Stursberg), call no. TAPE 3972:1
36   Dreams of Freedom: Bella Coola, Cape Scott, Sointula
By Gordon Fish
1982 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia The Rivers Inlet Season (produced by Gordon Fish), call no. TAPE 4032:1
37   Floodland and Forest: Memories of the Chilliwack Valley
By Imbert Orchard
1983 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia  
38   Imagine Please: Early Radio Broadcasting in British Columbia
By Dennis J. Duffy
1983 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia [sound program advertised but not produced].
39   Tall Tales of British Columbia
By Michael Taft
1983 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Tall Tales of British Columbia (produced by Michael Taft), call no. TAPE 4081:1
40   Growing Up in the Valley: Pioneer Childhood in the Lower Fraser Valley
By Imbert Orchard
1983 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia Little Pete and the Dollar Bill (produced by Imbert Orchard), call no. TAPE 4082:1

Special Publications of the Provincial Archives of British Columbia, 1975-1992

Publication Date Status Copyright
       
Steveston Recollected
By Daphne Marlatt
1975 Out of Print Daphne Marlatt (written sketches); Robert Minden (photographs); Rex Weyler (photographs); Provincial Archives of British Columbia (transcripts of interviews)
Proceedings of the Centennial Workshop on Ethnomusicology, 1967 (3rd edition)
Edited by Peter Crossley-Holland
1975 Out of Print [to be determined]
A Guide to Aural History Research
Edited by W.J. Langlois, Derek Reimer, Janet Cauthers & Allen Specht
1976 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia
Proceedings of the Centennial Workshop on Ethnomusicology: Volume 2, The Complete Discussions
Edited by Peter Crossley-Holland and Ida Halpern
1978 Out of Print [to be determined]
Journals of the Colonial Legislatures of the Colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, 1851-1871 [five volumes]
Edited by James E. Hendrickson
1980 Out of Print [to be determined]
The Modern Room [exhibition catalogue]
By Edythe Hembroff-Schleicher
1981 Out of Print [to be determined]
The Crease Family Archives: A Record of Settlement and Service in British Columbia
By Christina B. Johnson-Dean
1982 In Print [for sale at the BC Archives reception desk] [to be determined]
Voices: A Guide to Oral History
Edited by Derek Reimer, David Mattison & Allen Specht
1984 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia
Inventory and Subject Index of Principal Oral History Collections, Provincial Archives of British Columbia, Sound and Moving Image Division 1985 Out of Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia
Camera West: British Columbia on Film, 1941-1965
By Dennis J. Duffy
NOTE: supplements Motion Picture Production in British Columbia, 1898-1940 by Colin Browne (1979)
1986 In Print Provincial Archives of British Columbia (except introductory essay, copyright Dennis J. Duffy)
The School Record: A Guide to Government Archives Relating to Public Education in British Columbia, 1852-1946
By Patrick A. Dunae
1992 In Print British Columbia Archives and Records Service

Top of Page Disclaimer Statement Privacy Statement Graphics Credits Royal BC Museum Web Site
Government of British Columbia
Inquiries: Inquiries related to archival holdings, specific records, access, research, or reproduction orders may be submitted via electronic form or Email, as well as by mail or fax.
Home Page: http://www.bcarchives.gov.bc.ca This Page: http://www.bcarchives.gov.bc.ca/general/guides/publicat.htm
Last Modified: Tuesday, 18-Dec-2001 08:00:09 PST Maintained by: webmaster@www.bcarchives.gov.bc.ca
Copyright: Information on this site is provided for research purposes only. Please review Access and Usage.  Unless indicated otherwise, this page and all contents are Copyright ©, BC Archives, Royal BC Museum.
Records Classification: This site is classified and scheduled under ORCS 15100-25